What have I done?

What have I done with my life? With my last 10 years? I have no Oscar, no Nobel Prize. God, I haven’t even published a novel. Where are my accolades? I have no house, no glittering C.V., no precocious child. Where is my sequinned dress, my sun-kissed yacht, my ever-present adoring fans? Why am I not more accomplished? How have I wasted my time?

What have you done?

You had coffee with me, and you meant it when you asked, “How are you?” You showed me a free yoga video. You gave me a hand. You told me a funny story from 15 years ago.

You don’t know it, but your inconsequential moment made my life.

What I have not done is immaterial. What I do is try to be here with you. The star doesn’t know it is shining, or that it is gone, and an arrow never thanks the bow. Our ripples go beyond our sight. And that novel? Perhaps, one day, I might.

Leave a comment

Dylan B. Raines

Communications for Humanitarian and Environmental Causes

COLORFUL SISTERS

Traveling Fashion Designers 🌼

Awesomengers

Think हटk, Be Awesome!

Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

Musings and books from a grunty overthinker

Home Independence

​Your ​Guide For Work At Home Opportunities

yaskhan

I dream so I write ..

elancharan gunasekaran

a repository of experimental haiku & poetry

unbolt me

the literary asylum

My Short Stories

Sundaram Chauhan

Desert flower

living in the vibe of my emotions

Behind The Curtain

I think, I write, I think I'm right.

. . .

love each other like you are the lyric to their music